Letter From A Disappointed Fan

First off I would like to state for the record, I WAS WRONG. The San Francisco Giants wiped the floor with my Detroit Tigers in 4 games to complete the World Series sweep. Now, I am not going to be one of those fans that give every excuse in the book to why they lost. They lost because they were not the better team. The better team won, and I tip my cap to them. Congratulations to the Giants on their World Series win, they played an awesome Series and handed a very good team a beating. Now starts my pity party from a very involved and hardcore fan. A lot of people always have a problem with fans referring to a team as “we” because they say, your not part of the team so you should not act like you are. I’m here to say, I don’t care. Do I honestly think I am part of the Detroit Tigers… No I don’t, but to say that we are not somehow invested in the team is an injustice. I live and die with my sports teams, some more than others admittedly. Like for instance, the Detroit Tigers. I am a VERY big baseball fan, as you can probably tell by now. Last night as my team was getting swept in the World Series, I was with a friend of mine who is as every bit a fan as I am. It was down to the last out with Miguel Cabrera up to bat and we still thought there was a chance. As he was up to bat, we were standing in his living room where there was no one else with our rally caps on waiting for a historical moment that never came. When Miggy looked at that third strike to end the game and also our season, I spiked my hat and slumped to the ground where I stayed for a good 5 minutes. It was hard to watch what was to come on the TV screen but I did anyway. In my lifetime my baseball team has been to the World Series 2 times, and lost both of them. So I know what it is like to watch a team win against my team. But every year regardless if my team is in the Fall Classic I watch the team celebrate the win. Even if you think I’m crazy I do this for a reason, I do it to know what it looks like to win the biggest Series in baseball and I like to think I am part of the team in the idea that I hope that they are doing the same thing. Now I know you are probably wondering why I told you that long story, but it comes down to the fact that fans are part of a team. We go through all the ups and downs with a team and often times take losing pretty hard. That’s why I say “WE”, because I am part of the faithful body that we call Tiger fans. That’s why I love sports, because it allows you to escape and feel like you are part of something bigger then yourself. So basically what I am trying to say is live and die with your team, be passionate and love your team. And one of the most used sayings in sports seems very fitting today. There’s always next year.

About carlizle810

Just a dude that loves baseball and likes to talk about it
This entry was posted in MLB and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Letter From A Disappointed Fan

  1. Good read. I wrote a response to your blog ~ http://wp.me/pV4Gn-1fu Hope you like it. Best to your Tigers in 2013.

Leave a Reply

