Ray Lewis (Sunday Special 2)

Ray Lewis and the Baltimore Ravens are onto the second round of the NFL playoffs and will head to Denver to play the Broncos. Lewis helped the Ravens to a 24-9 victory with 11 tackles, but more than just his play helped them overcome the Colts. He’s the heart and soul of that team and always brings an energy that no one else can in the league. From his pregame rituals, to his play on the field, to his dances he does throughout the game, to his inspirational speeches he always gives. He announced this week that this will be his last season in the NFL and I have to say I will miss watching him play. I have always told my friends that I thought Ray Lewis could get me pumped up to take out the garbage, and I still think he could inspire anyone he talked to. He is a great player and will go down as one of the best linebackers in the history of the game but I think that there is another part of him that is even more important. After the game today he was doing an interview with the people on CBS and he had his shoulder pads off, his undershirt read Psalms 91. Here’s what it reads, “Whoever dwells in the shelter of the Most High will rest in the shadow of the Almighty. I will say of the Lord, He is my refuge and my fortress, my God, in whom I trust.” That is only the first beginning part of the Psalm and I encourage you to look up the rest. Ray Lewis has been through a lot in his life and has overcomes some huge obstacles, such as his murder trial. I think he would be the first one to admit that he isn’t perfect but he has had a drastic change in his life and is become a great role model and a great person. Every chance he gets he proclaims his faith and his love for his Lord, such as today when he wore that shirt and proclaimed the God has been good to him over his career. It’s refreshing to see and as a fellow believer I loved seeing that today. He is just another great example of God doing extraordinary things with ordinary people. I know it’s not my usual post but thanks to whoever reads. God Bless.

About Eric Carlisle

The Hang Time is a sports and entertainment blog.
This entry was posted in NFL, Other and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment